Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Barry Smith

President, Elected Member

Barry has had a varied career as a teacher, teacher union official, government adviser and business owner. Barry currently runs an investment company and as well as his involvement with State Schools' Relief supports a school and an orphanage in the Philippines.

Christine Stewart

Vice President, Represents the Australian Education Union - Secondary

A secondary teacher for over twenty years, Christine’s roles also include Student Welfare Coordinator. Christine has been an elected official of the Australian Education Union (AEU) for twelve years.

Cheryle Osborne

Represents the Victorian Principals Association (VPA)

Cheryle has over 35 years’ experience in Victorian Government schools and is currently Principal of Aspendale Gardens Primary School. Cheryle has been a member of the VPA for 20 years and a VPA Board Member for the past 11 years.

Esther Wood

Elected Member

Esther has over thirteen years’ experience as a principal of Burwood Heights Primary Schools and Kindergarten. Esther's past board appointments and various Victorian Principals Association positions provide a wealth of knowledge for the challenges State Schools' Relief faces.

John Hurley

Elected Member

John has been primary school principal for more than thirty years. He is currently principal of Thomas Mitchell Primary School. He is an active member of several principal networks, and has a strong commitment to providing equity for all government school students.

Lisa Amalfi-Chiera

Represents Parents Victoria

Regardless of social and economic background Lisa Amalfi-Chiera firmly believes every student deserves access to inclusive and equitable education. In 2017 Lisa joined the voluntary executive of Parents Victoria, the peak body representing parents of students in Victorian public schools. Lisa joined the SSR Board in early 2018.

Maria Shearn

Represents the Australian Education Union - Primary

With over thirty years’ experience in Victorian Government schools, Maria is currently the Principal of East Bentleigh Primary School. Maria has been an AEU member for 30 years and an SSR Board member since 2013. As well as her passionate belief in, and support of, inclusive education, Maria also supports an orphanage and school in the Philippines.

Ralph Francione

Elected Member

Ralph has a wealth of experience as teacher, Principal, Inspector of Schools, Senior Administrator (Department of Education), Chairman of State Curriculum Committees; tertiary lecturer, film reviewer and umpire with Cricket Victoria.

Robyn Wilson

Represents the Association of Business Managers in Victorian State Schools (ABMVSS)

Robyn has worked for more than 15 years as a Business Manager and joined the SSR Board in early 2015.

Rommie Redlich

Elected Member

Rommie is the Head of Superannuation for Catholic Church Insurance Limited. He has over thirty years’ experience working for large corporations in senior roles. Previously, Rommie spent thirteen years working closely with the Victorian Education sector.

Sue Karzis

CEO, State Schools’ Relief

Sue Karzis is the Chief Executive Officer at State Schools’ Relief. Sue is a values-driven leader and educator with over ten years’ experience in senior roles.

Susan Mann

Elected Member

Sue has worked in education in Victoria, nationally and internationally, as a secondary teacher, teacher educator, policy analyst and senior administrator for over 40 years. Over the last 20 years, she has developed extensive experience in managing non-for-profit companies owned by the Australian Ministers for education, as Chief Operating Officer of the Learning Federation and Chief Executive Officer of Curriculum Corporation and its successor, Education Services Australia.

Tony Ross

Elected Member

Tony has held many senior positions in education; in Australia and abroad. Tony runs his own consulting business and as well as his involvement with State Schools' Relief he supports a school and an orphanage in the Philippines. Tony is a Board Member of Bendigo Bank and Vice President of the Pakenham Living Learning Centre.

Wilma Culton

Elected Member

Wilma is the Principal at Serpell Primary in Templestowe, a position that she has held for the past fifteen years of her twenty one years as a Principal in Victorian schools. Wilma has a special interest in International Education, International Standards and Accreditation of Schools with a strong focus on development of students with a positive contribution as global citizens.